Articles I've written since last summer

Work has commenced, albeit in fits and starts, on my second book, but my occasional pieces for The Media are still coming out every once in a while. Here are links to all the ones I can remember.

In October I interviewed Tokyo-based American singer-songwriter Kate Sikora about her quite lovely new album "The Days We Hold On To". You can read it on The Japan Times' website here.

 

I wrote an article about the Tokyo music scene for Leeds, UK-based indie label Come Play With Me's new zine, which you can buy from their Bandcamp here or pick up from me in person (or at a couple of Tokyo locations) for free.

A live review of Jim O'Rourke's performance of his Sleep Like It's Winter album that I did for Japanese music magazine Ele-king is available to read online here (scroll down for English text).

 

Continuing my theme of writing obituaries for dead Manchester punk scene legends, here's my piece about the sad passing of Pete Shelley (scroll down for English text).


Also for Ele-king (which is the main place my music writing has been appearing recently) I wrote a report on the unconventional and fascinating Madeiradig experimental music festival on the Portuguese island of Madeira. Read it here (scroll down for English text).

 

Another Ele-king piece was this column about the questionable relevance of indie rock in 2019, with a discussion of what its problems are and what its remaining value could be. Read it here (scroll down for English text).

I have another piece coming soon, also for Ele-king, as well as a couple of new things for other media. I link to everything on Twitter, so if you're seized with a desire to get up-to-date access to the latest opinions I have for money, follow me there, but if you don't mind waiting six months or so, I'll collect everything here sooner or later.

Write a comment

Comments: 0